Login ↓      Francais      English
African Civil Aviation

--- Video of the launching ---

The African Union Commission (AUC), in collaboration with the African Civil Aviation Commission (AFCAC) and the Government of the Republic of Togo plan to organise the fourth meeting of the Ministerial Working Group on the operationalisation of the Single African Air Transport Market, scheduled on 25 – 28 May 2018 in Lomé, Togo.

The Single African Air Transport Market was launched and established during the 30th AU Assembly summit on 28 January 2018. At the same summit, the Heads of States and Government also adopted the Yamoussoukro Decision’s institutional and regulatory texts and designated H.E. the President of Togo as the Champion of SAATM. The fourth meeting of the Ministerial Working Group, hosted by Togo, will be the first meeting since the launch of SAATM. The meeting will address the implementation status of the immediate measures to ensure the effective operation of the market and facilitate the harmonisation of air service agreements between the Member States of the single market. The Commission will also take this opportunity to disseminate the Competition and Consumer protection regulations of the Yamoussoukro Decision.

The objective of the meeting is to harmonise bilateral air service agreements (BASAs) between the members of the Single African Air Transport Market. In that regard, Member States are urged to bring along their appropriate credentials to sign negotiated Bilateral Air Service Agreements and Memorandum of Understanding on behalf of their respective States. Delegation for each Member State should include at least the Director General of Civil Aviation or someone with similar competence, duly authorised to negotiate a Memorandum of Understanding between Member States on air transport. The Expert meeting will take place from 25 to 27 May 2018 and the Ministers meeting will be on 28 May 2018.

The twenty-five countries currently subscribed to the Solemn Commitment are: Benin, Burkina Faso, Botswana, Capo Verde, Central African Republic, Republic of Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Chad, Egypt, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea, Kenya, Liberia, Mali, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Togo and Zimbabwe.

For more information, please contact Ms. Martha Yitayew, E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.; Tel.: +251115182429; Fax: +251115182450.

  1. Registration Form (docx)
  2. Draft Agenda & Programme (pdf) EN --- French Here ---
  3. Concept Note (pdf) EN --- French Here ---
  4. Hotel List (pdf)
  5. Letter Visa on Arrival (pdf)
AFCAC | African Civil Aviation Commission
© Copyright 2018 AFCAC   |   Legal   |   Privacy